BYU-Hawaii
Area Code (808)
Circulation: 675-3876
Copy Center: 675-3870 Media Services: 675-3855 Reference: 675-3878

Music Bibliography

Music 284: Music History Research Resources

Books

Music books are in call number “M” in Reference, General and Folio collections.
Find books through our on-line catalog; first check subject headings.

Periodical literature

International Index to Music Periodicals: indexes 400 music periodicals with 60 full-text titles from 1874.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature: 325,000 articles from 5,200 journals since 1967.

EBSCO’s Academic Premier and ProQuest’s Research Library: includes some music periodicals with about 50% full-text.
IngentaConnnect: indexes 26,000 journals in all subjects including music; no full-text.
Grove Music Online: electronic version of 29 volume encyclopedia.
Classical Music Library: thousands of pieces from hundreds of composers, downloadable.
JSTOR: full text articles from 33 core music journals.

If the database you’re using does not offer the full text, check to see if we have it elsewhere as a full text file, bound periodical or microfilm. If BYUH doesn’t have the book or article you want, consider making an Inter-Library Loan request.
Academic databases and web-sites
A. Web directories to check:
Infomine from the University of California. (http://infomine.ucr.edu)
Librarians Index to the Internet from UC Berkeley. (http://lii.org)
OIAster from University of Michigan. (http://oaister.umdl.umich.edu/o/oaister)
Internet Public Library (http://www.ipl.org/ref)
BUBL from the British Library. (http://bubl.ac.uk)
Library Spot (http://libraryspot.com/reference/music.htm)