BYU-Hawaii
Area Code (808)
Circulation: 675-3876
Copy Center: 675-3870 Media Services: 675-3855 Reference: 675-3878

Book Reviews

Finding Book Reviews In The Joseph F. Smith Library

 

 

This pathfinder will guide you through the many methods of finding book reviews for papers. Using the Reference area and the world wide web, you will be introduced to numerous possibilities. This will make your search much easier and far less intimidating (we hope). Good Luck!

General Indexes
(These books are in the Reference area)

Book Review Index (Ref PN80.B72 1965-current)

This helpful source indexes book reviews from more than 600 periodicals. It includes citations for reviews of any type of book, periodical, or reference work that has been or is about to be published and is at least 50 pages long.

v Find the date your book was published.

v Go to the Book Review Index of that year or a year later.

v Search by the Author's last name in the main index, or if you do not have the author’s name, try the Title Index found in the second half of the volume.

v When you find the entry that best fits your book, look below it to see a list of publications that have reviews. Because many of the publications will be listed as acronyms, you may need to go to the list of Publications Indexed, found in the front of the volume. There you will find the full name of the periodical.

v From there, you will need to search the BYU-Hawaii Catalog. To find out if we have the periodical you are looking for, search by periodical title. The catalog will tell you if we have it in this library, and where: microfilm/fiche, or bound.

Book Review Digest Ref PN80.B66 (1905-current)

v This great source is favored by some, because it not only indexes reviews, but also gives you the review itself. This helps you recognize if it is what you are looking for before you go to the actual source. Although the review is listed, you should go to the actual source yourself for citing accuracy.

v (Use it the same way you would use the Book Review Index, but it is best to search by the author's name, instead of using the title).

Additional Reference
Sources

Library Service Cumulative Book National Review Index 1905-1974 Ref PN81.N3 (obviously only good for books published between 1905 and 1974).

Magill's Literary Annual Ref PN44.M333 This series contains essay-reviews of 200 outstanding books published in the United States during that year. (books published since 1977).

Survey of Contemporary Literature Ref PN44.M34
This series contains 2,300 essay-reviews of works published between 1954 and 1976.

Bibliographies

Marcuse, Michael J. Reference Guide for English Studies Ref PR56.M37 1990

Walford, A. J., ed. Reviews and Reviewing: A Guide Gen PN98.B7R5

General Sources

General Science Index. New York: H. W. Wilson Index Q1.A3G4

Humanities Index. New York: H. W. Wilson Index AI3.H85

Social Sciences Index. New York: H. W. Wilson Index AI3.S62

Retrospective

National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index. Princeton, N.J. Ref PN81.N3

Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1881. Peter Smith Index AI3.P7

Economics, Military and Political Science

Journal of Economic Literature. Nashville. Bound, Current and Microform-shelves

Literature

MLA International Bibliography Index PB6.XlM64

Psychology and Sociology

Sociological Abstracts. San Diego Index PII8.2.S42

On the Internet

AcqWeb’s Directory of Book Reviews on the Web
www.library.vanderbilt.edu/law/azqs/bookrev

Arts & Letters Daily
www.aldaily.com

ATLA Religion Database
www.atla.com

Booklist
www.a1a.org[bookJ1St/

Books and Book Reviews on the Web
home.mchsi.com/~albeej/pages/Books

www.booksinprint.com

www.bookreviews.net

www.bookspot.com/bookreviews.htm

The Boston Book Review
www.bookwire.com/bbr/bbr home.html

Boston Review
http://bostonreview.mit.edu/aboutBR

Education Review: A Journal of Book Reviews
www.ed.asu/edrev

Detroit: Gale, 1992
www.galegroup.com

History Today
www.historytoday.com

Historical Abstracts (database through BYUH)
http://serials.abc-clio.com/

H-Net Reviews
www.h-net.msu.edu/reviews

Hungry Mind Review
< www bookwire.com/hmr>

www.independentreader.com/irhome.htm

JSTOR
www.jstor.org

Law and Politics Book Review
www.unt.edu/lpbr

LIBRIS Artikeldatabas
www.libris.kb.se

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe

The Medieval Review
http://dlps4.umdl.umich.edu/t/tmr

Metacrawler
< vvww.metacraw1er.com>
This is a search engine that looks through the entire web for the keywords you have entered.

New York Review of Books
www.nybooks.com/archives

Periodicals Content Index
http.//pci.chadwyck.com

Project Muse
http://muse.jhu.edu/muse.html

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
http://biblioline.nisc.com/scripts/login.dll?BiblioLine&dbname=QRLM

Review of Books
www.uni-ulm.de/%7Erturrell

NY Times
< search.nytimes.com/books/>

ProOuest
< wsvw.umi.com/pqdauto/>

This is one of the most helpful sources on the web, especially for BYUH students, because all BYUH computers have a subscription to it. Simply go to Netscape or Internet Explorer, and type in the address above, OR, go to the Index and Database link on the library home page and then to browse alphabetically until you get to ProQuest. Search by word, typing in the author and title of your book.

School Library Journal
< www.bookwire.com/s1j/>